Welcome!

Welcome to our community forums, full of great people, ideas and excitement. Please register if you would like to take part.

This is extra text with a test link..

Register Now

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Greetings from Portland, OR

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from Portland, OR

Greetings fellow Vulcan riders. I'm hoping to be an asset to the group despite my limited experience!

First a little about me - I've been thinking about a bike purchase for several years now but it never seemed like the right time until last summer. I went through the local TEAM Oregon safety class a couple years back to get my endorsement and had planned to purchase a bike shortly thereafter, but had to settle for a 150cc Chetak scooter for a year or so until the time was right.

Because I am a novice rider I was looking for a bike with medium displacement and when I found a co-worker looking to unload his '05 800 Classic for $2500 I jumped at the chance. Before that I had never even looked at a Vulcan but I was pleased with the styling, condition and the way it handled under my shaky control.

I took it straight to a dealer shop to give it a thorough safety inspection, and a full maintenance service and replaced the tires with brand new Metzeler 880s and began practicing in local parking lots and residential streets in my neighborhood. With the exception of terrorizing a few squirrels, I had no mishaps other than dropping the bike on it's pegs practicing some slow turns. I don't know how I managed to avoid scratching it but that was my first lesson in steering geometry, and how to properly use the clutch!

As Oregon winters and not the best environment for a new rider still learning the performance limits of a new bike, I sadly put her in the garage for the winter and consoled myself with reading David Hough's Proficient Motorcycling books, Mark Zimmerman's Motorcycle Maintenance, and a Clymer shop manual.