Welcome!

Welcome to our community forums, full of great people, ideas and excitement. Please register if you would like to take part.

This is extra text with a test link..

Register Now

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

bike left me sit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bike left me sit

Hello all. I am hoping and wishing that someone can give me some advice. I am a new motorcycle driver/rider having just got my license a month ago at the age of 49.....YAH!! I bought a 1991 Vulcan 500 EN a week ago and guess what? Yes you got....it left me sit yesterday. When I bought it the guy said that it had some problems with backfiring when it was wet. Well it rained on and off Friday. I didn't ride it Friday. Saturday morning I went out and started it I made sure I gave it plenty of time to warm up. It ran rough as I expected it would but eventually it smoothed out. I got on it and rode it about 2-3 miles up road to the post office. During that portion of the ride it seemed like it ran rough....like when I throttled up it did not have a lot of power. So when I turned onto the road that the post office was on it stalled and then wouldn't start. It acted like it wanted to start but didn't. It backfired a couple of times and actually turned over 3-4 times for a couple of seconds. As I was sitting there there was water dripping out from somewhere....there was a big puddle underneath the bike and it WAS water (not gas). So it is now sitting in a garage. Does anyone have any ideas of what it could be?

Re: bike left me sit